Press Release Article


Date: Apr 23, 2002
Press Release Number: 49-2002

The Commissioners of The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey today re-elected Jack G. Sinagra of East Brunswick, N.J., as Chairman of the bistate agency\'s Board and Charles A. Gargano of New York City as Vice Chairman.

The Board also re-elected Joseph J. Seymour of Bethlehem, N.Y., as Executive Director and Jeffrey S. Green of Pearl River, N.Y., as General Counsel.

Charles F. McClafferty of East Islip, N.Y., was re-elected as Chief Financial Officer, Karen E. Eastman of Old Bridge, N.J., was elected as Secretary, Bruce F. Bohlen of Fanwood, N.J., was re-elected as Treasurer, Margaret R. Zoch of East Rutherford, N.J., was re-elected as Comptroller, and John D. Brill of Huntington, N.Y., was re-elected as Director of Audit.

Mr. Sinagra, Mr. Gargano, and Mr. Seymour were re-elected as Chairman, Vice Chairman and President, respectively, of the Port Authority\'s subsidiaries: the Port Authority Trans-Hudson Corporation (PATH), the Newark Legal and Communications Center Urban Renewal Corporation, and the New York & New Jersey Railroad Corporation.

Ernesto L. Butcher of South Orange, N.J., the bistate agency\'s Chief Operating Officer, was re-elected Vice President and General Manager of the PATH rapid transit system. Cherrie L. Nanninga of New York City, Director of Real Estate, was re-elected Vice President and Secretary of the Newark Legal Center Corporation. Mr. Green, the Port Authority\'s General Counsel, also serves as Counsel to the subsidiaries. He also was re-elected as Vice-President and Secretary of the New York & New Jersey Railroad Corporation.

Appointed by former New Jersey Acting Governor Donald T. DiFrancesco, Chairman Sinagra joined the Board on October 25, 2001. He was elected Chairman on December 13, 2001.

The Chairman serves as chief executive officer and principal policy spokesman for the 12-member Board of Commissioners, whose members, six from each state, are appointed by the Governors of their respective states. Each appointment is subject to the approval of the respective state Senate.

The Commissioners serve without compensation for six-year overlapping terms. The Board sets the policies of the Port Authority, and its actions are subject to review and veto by the Governors.

Chairman Sinagra is Senior Vice President of Turtle and Hughes, Inc., an electrical supplies distributor based in Linden, N.J. He served in the New Jersey State Senate for 10 years, chairing the Senate Health Committee, and was active in issues ranging from health care policy to economic development. He was also a member of the New Jersey Commerce and Economic Growth Commission; the New Jersey Israel Commission; the Task Force on the Affordability and Accessibility of Health Care in New Jersey; and the New Jersey Human Relations Council.

Vice Chairman Gargano was appointed a Commissioner of the Port Authority by New York Governor George E. Pataki, effective April 6, 1995.

A former U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago and Deputy Administrator of the federal Urban Mass Transportation Administration, Mr. Gargano currently serves as Chairman of the Empire State Development Corporation, responsible for all New York State economic development agencies.

Governor George E. Pataki proposed Mr. Seymour for the position of Executive Director, succeeding the late Neil D. Levin, who died on September 11, 2001. The Port Authority Board elected Mr. Seymour as Executive Director on December 13, 2001. Mr. Seymour had previously been Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the New York Power Authority. Prior to that, he served four-and-a-half years as New York State Commissioner of General Services. He also had served as Executive Deputy Commissioner of the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, beginning in March 1995. He has more than 30 years of administrative, managerial and economic development experience in New York State and local governments.

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey is a self-supporting agency of the two states. Functioning without tax revenues or the ability to levy taxes, it was created as The Port of New York Authority on April 30, 1921, by compact between the two states, with the consent of Congress, to plan, develop and operate terminal, transportation and other facilities of commerce, and to promote and protect the commerce of the bistate port. On July 1, 1972, its name was changed to identify more accurately its status as a bistate agency.

The Port Authority operates more than 30 facilities in the region, including the area\'s three major airports; the vehicular tunnels and bridges between New York and New Jersey; the PATH rapid transit system; the Downtown Manhattan Heliport; eight marine terminals; and the Port Authority Bus Terminal.

Web Site Disclaimer    |    Privacy Statement
© 2001-CurrentYear The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. All Rights Reserved.

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
(212) 435-7000  •  4 World Trade Center, 150 Greenwich Street, New York, NY 10007