Press Release Article


Date: Apr 26, 2001
Press Release Number: 69-2001

The Commissioners of The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey today re-elected Lewis M. Eisenberg of Rumson, N.J., as Chairman of the bistate agency\'s Board and Charles A. Gargano of New York City as Vice-Chairman.
The Board also elected Neil D. Levin of New York City as Executive Director and re-elected Jeffrey S. Green of Pearl River, N.Y., as General Counsel.

Charles F. McClafferty of East Islip, N.Y., was re-elected as Chief Financial Officer, Daniel D. Bergstein of Teaneck, N.J., was re-elected as Secretary, Bruce F. Bohlen of Fanwood, N.J., was re-elected as Treasurer, Margaret R. Zoch of East Rutherford, N.J., was re-elected as Comptroller, and John D. Brill of Huntington, N.Y., was re-elected as Director of Audit.

Mr. Eisenberg and Mr. Gargano were re-elected and Mr. Levin was elected as Chairman, Vice-Chairman and President, respectively, of the Port Authority\'s subsidiaries: the Port Authority Trans-Hudson Corporation (PATH), the Newark Legal and Communications Center Urban Renewal Corporation, and the New York & New Jersey Railroad Corporation.

Ernesto L. Butcher of South Orange, N.J., the bistate agency\'s Chief Operating Officer, was re-elected Vice President and General Manager of the PATH rapid transit system. Cherrie L. Nanninga of New York City, Director of Real Estate, was elected Vice President and Secretary of the Newark Legal Center Corporation. Mr. Green, the Port Authority\'s General Counsel, also serves as Counsel to the subsidiaries. He also was re-elected as Vice-President and Secretary of the New York & New Jersey Railroad Corporation.

Chairman Eisenberg was appointed to the Board by former New Jersey Governor Christine Todd Whitman and became a Commissioner on February 4, 1994. He was first elected Chairman of the Board on November 9, 1995.

The Chairman serves as chief executive officer and principal policy spokesman for the 12-member Board of Commissioners, whose members, six from each state, are appointed by the Governors of their respective states. Each appointment is subject to the approval of the respective state senate.

The Commissioners serve without compensation for six-year overlapping terms. The Board sets the policies of the Port Authority, and its actions are subject to review and veto by the Governors.

Chairman Eisenberg is founder and Co-Chairman of Granite Capital International Group, an investment management company, and is on the Board of Directors of Granum Communications, Inc., a national radio broadcasting company. Prior to founding Granite Capital, Mr. Eisenberg was a general partner and co-head of the equity division of Goldman Sachs.

Vice-Chairman Gargano was appointed a Commissioner of the Port Authority by New York Governor George E. Pataki, effective April 6, 1995.

A former U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago and Deputy Administrator of the federal Urban Mass Transportation Administration, Mr. Gargano currently serves as Chairman of the Empire State Development Corporation, responsible for all New York State economic development agencies.

Mr. Levin, who became Executive Director of the Port Authority on April 6, 2001, previously served as Superintendent of Insurance for New York State. He also served as Superintendent of Banks for New York State and is a former Vice President of Goldman, Sachs & Co. As Executive Director, Mr. Levin directs a staff of approximately 7,000 Port Authority and PATH employees. Mr. Levin also serves as a trustee of Hofstra University and is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey is a self-supporting agency of the two states. Functioning without tax revenues or the ability to levy taxes, it was created as The Port of New York Authority on April 30, 1921, by compact between the two states, with the consent of Congress, to plan, develop and operate terminal, transportation and other facilities of commerce, and to promote and protect the commerce of the bistate port. On July 1, 1972, its name was changed to identify more accurately its status as a bistate agency.

The Port Authority operates more than 30 facilities in the region, including the area\'s three major airports; the vehicular tunnels and bridges between New York and New Jersey; the PATH interstate rail transit system; the Downtown Manhattan Heliport; eight marine terminals; the World Trade Center; and the Port Authority Bus Terminal.

Web Site Disclaimer    |    Privacy Statement
© 2001-CurrentYear The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. All Rights Reserved.

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
(212) 435-7000  •  4 World Trade Center, 150 Greenwich Street, New York, NY 10007