Press Release Article


Date: May 19, 2005
Press Release Number: 62-2005

TWA Terminal Stamp Image

Terminal 5 at John F. Kennedy International Airport will be included in a pane of 12 stamps to be issued nationwide on Friday as the U.S. Postal Service honors masterworks of modern American architecture.

Terminal 5, also known as the TWA Flight Center, was designed by renowned architect Eero Saarinen and opened in 1962. Although physical and aeronautical limitations led to the terminal’s decommissioning in 2001, the Port Authority reached an agreement last year with the Federal Aviation Administration, the New York State Historic Preservation Office and the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation for the rehabilitation, restoration and adaptive reuse of the terminal. A new passenger terminal will be built behind Terminal 5.

Port Authority Chairman Anthony R. Coscia said, “We appreciate the U.S. Postal Service recognizing our historic terminal with this honor. We look forward to reopening this building to the public as we move forward on our adaptive reuse process, and expect grand results, just as we experienced with the National Historic Landmark Building One at Newark Liberty International Airport.”

Port Authority Vice Chairman Charles A. Gargano said, “Although Terminal 5 no longer operates as a passenger terminal, its place as a New York architectural icon and centerpiece of Kennedy Airport is secure, and that’s why we’re committed to the building’s preservation and restoration. We thank the U.S. Postal Service for this tribute.”

Port Authority Executive Director Kenneth J. Ringler Jr. said, “At the Port Authority, we take great pride in our history, and go to great lengths to preserve and protect our past while also working hard to meet the transportation demands of the future. This was illustrated recently by our relocation and restoration of Newark Airport’s original passenger terminal, which we incorporated into the airport’s new administration building, and the restoration work on the Marine Air Terminal at LaGuardia Airport, which was recently rededicated. We’re thrilled the U.S. Postal Service has bestowed such a great honor on one of our agency’s most treasured facilities.”

The pane that features the Terminal 5 postage stamp also includes stamps showcasing the Guggenheim Museum, the Chrysler Building and the National Gallery of Art.

Although no adaptive reuse has been decided for Terminal 5, more than 40 firms expressed interest to the Port Authority in 2002 in restoring and redeveloping the terminal for a new use while preserving its visionary architecture.

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey operates many of the busiest and most important transportation links in the region. They include John F. Kennedy International, Newark Liberty International, LaGuardia and Teterboro airports; AirTrain JFK and AirTrain Newark; the George Washington Bridge and Bus Station; the Lincoln and Holland tunnels; the three bridges between Staten Island and New Jersey; the PATH (Port Authority Trans-Hudson) rapid-transit rail system; the Port Authority-Downtown Manhattan Heliport; Port Newark; the Elizabeth-Port Authority Marine Terminal; the New York Container Terminal on Staten Island; the Brooklyn Piers/Red Hook Container Terminal; and the Port Authority Bus Terminal in midtown Manhattan. The agency also owns the 16-acre World Trade Center site in Lower Manhattan.

The Port Authority is financially self-supporting and receives no tax revenue from either state.

Web Site Disclaimer    |    Privacy Statement
© 2001-CurrentYear The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. All Rights Reserved.

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
(212) 435-7000  •  4 World Trade Center, 150 Greenwich Street, New York, NY 10007