# **Teterboro Aircraft Noise Abatement Advisory Committee**

Overview, Membership, Mission Statement, and By-Laws

#### **Article 1 - Overview:**

The *Teterboro Aircraft Noise Abatement Advisory Committee* (TANAAC) was established on February 26, 1987. The main purpose of the committee is to establish a meaningful dialogue between the airport community and the residential communities. The primary goal is to enhance the quality of life of the residents of local communities while insuring the efficient operation of the airport.

The airport will assist the local communities in petitioning both the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and Federal Government, in matters that would result in a better quality of life for residents of the state. Technical advice is given in matters concerning noise and aircraft over flights.

TANAAC is comprised of locally elected officials (Mayors, State Senators and Assembly Members, Bergen County Executive, and Freeholder Chairperson), or their appointed alternate (appointed alternates must be officially appointed by their respective municipality or government agency, and written notification of the appointment, must be provided to the TANAAC Co-Chairs).

## **Article 2 - Membership:**

Membership is open to locally elected officials representing the interests of the population that is located within the *Airport Traffic Area* (approximately five mile radius of the airport) and selected members of the local aviation community. The communities of Bogota, Carlstadt, Hackensack, Hasbrouck Heights, Little Ferry, Maywood, Moonachie, Ridgefield Park, Rochelle Park, Rutherford, South Hackensack, Secaucus, Teaneck, Teterboro and Wood-Ridge are represented by the mayor or an appointed alternate. The Bergen County Executive and Freeholder Chairperson, U.S. Representative for the 9<sup>th</sup> District of New Jersey, U.S. Senators for New Jersey, State Assembly Members, and State Senators of the 36<sup>th</sup> and 38<sup>th</sup> districts are represented by themselves or an appointed alternate.

The aviation community is represented by the Airport Manager, the Federal Aviation Administration Teterboro Air Traffic Control Tower Manager, selected members of the Aviation Community (Airport Operator, Airport Owner, Fixed Base Operators, and Heads of Corporate Flight Departments). The Tower Manager's membership is limited to that of a technical advisor.

## **Article 3 - Mission Statement:**

1.) TANAAC shall make recommendations that will enhance the quality of life for the residents living within the *Airport Traffic Area*, (approximately five mile radius of the airport). Recommendations should focus on areas that would result in aircraft, utilizing

Teterboro Airport, to operate in the quietest and most environmental friendly manner technically possible.

- 2.) Airport management will make a concerted effort to implement recommendations put forth by the Committee. Airport management will work with the FAA and others with jurisdiction over these matters, to ensure that recommendations are appropriately addressed. Recommendations must not be in violation of current lease agreements, grant assurances, existing laws, and/or federal rules and regulations.
- 3.) The Airport Operator shall prepare quarterly and year end reports. Reports will include information pertaining to, but not be limited to, runway usage, aircraft movements, noise monitor readings, noise complaint information and violation/warning letters issued.
- 4.) The Airport Operator will keep TANAAC members informed of any conditions that may change, or may be perceived as changing the quality of life of area residents. Information regarding the Airport will be disseminated in a timely manner. Airport construction projects, runway rehabilitation, hangar construction and/or renovations and rule changes will be discussed at quarterly meetings. Any known Air Traffic rule changes, routing changes, approach and departure procedures changes and new technology will be brought to the attention of TANAAC.

#### **Article 4 - By-Laws:**

- 1.) Each local community shall be represented by the mayor, or their appointed alternate; they are entitled to one (1) official vote. Voting members of the TANAAC are listed below:
  - a. Airport Manager (Only in the case of tie)
  - b. Bergen County
  - c. Bogota
  - d. Carlstadt
  - e. Hackensack
  - f. Hasbrouck Heights
  - g. Little Ferry
  - h. Maywood
  - i. Moonachie
  - j. Ridgefield Park
  - k. Rochelle Park
  - 1. Rutherford
  - m. South Hackensack
  - n. Secaucus
  - o. Teaneck
  - p. Teterboro
  - q. Wood-Ridge
- 2.) Members of Congress, State Assembly Members, State Senators, and the Bergen County Freeholder Chairperson, shall be represented by the office holder, or an appointed alternate. They are non-voting members.

- 3.) The Airport Owner shall be represented by the General Manager of New Jersey Airports of The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, or an appointed alternate. The Airport Owner is non-voting member.
- 4.) The Airport Operator shall be represented by the Airport Manager, or an appointed alternate, and is only eligible to vote to break a tie.
- 5.) The Federal Aviation Administration shall be represented, in an advisory capacity only, by the Teterboro Air Traffic Control Tower Manager, or an appointed alternate. They are a non-voting members.
- 6.) Members of the Aviation Users Community will be selected by the Airport Manager from a representative cross section of the based tenants at Teterboro. They are non-voting members.
- 7.) TANAAC shall be co-chaired by the airport manager, and a mayor/elected official (or their appointed alternate) from the TANAAC Voting Membership.
  - a. All candidates for Co-Chair shall be nominated and seconded.
  - b. The individual being nominated must be present and accept the nomination.
  - c. Mayoral appointed alternates to the TANAAC, must be officially appointed by their respective municipalities prior to accepting the Co-Chair position.
  - d. Nominations for Co-Chair will be made at one meeting and voted on at the next subsequent meeting.
- 8.) Elected Co-Chairs will serve a two (2) year term.
- 9.) TANAAC Meetings are open to the press and public.
- 10.) TANAAC quarterly meetings are scheduled for the fourth Wednesday in the months of January, April, July and October. Meeting Notices will be sent out prior to meeting.
- 11.) The Airport Operator will facilitate all meetings and correspondence.
- 12.) Any TANAAC member may request a special meeting, by contacting the Airport Manager.
- 13.) Motions will be carried by a simple majority. In the event of a tie vote, the Airport Manager will break the tie.
- 14.) A minimum of five (5) communities must be represented for all official votes.
- 15.) Guests may actively participate and indicate desires at meetings, but their preferences will not be counted for official votes.
- 16.) Minutes will be taken at all meetings and summarized in the following quarterly report.

- 17.) In the event the Airport Operator is unable to implement recommendations made by TANAAC the membership will be formally advised.
- 18.) Any changes to these by-laws need to be read at one meeting, and then ratified at the next subsequent meeting. By-Law changes require a two-thirds majority of present TANAAC voting members to pass.
- 19.) When differences in the interpretation of the by-laws arise, the determination of the accepted interpretation shall be based upon past practice until such time as the membership enacts a by-laws change to the contrary.

Rev. #1: 7/22/1997

Rev. #2: 1/22/1998 - Word Change

Rev. #3: 7/21/2008 - Scanned From Existing Document

Rev. #4: 1/25/2018 - Addition of Rochelle Park

Rev. #5: 8/13/2019 - Numerous edits of grammar and articles